Hitting the Wall, Rounding the Bend, Writing the Whole Way

Well, I just found this after finding out my high school friend accepted in a notable university and I didn’t. The situation is kinda the same.

Today's Author

Shari-booksEleven years ago, I began writing a book I’d wanted to pen for decades. The premise of the book changed significantly so the one I finally wrote is less stodgy, more imaginative, and well researched. I finished it after four years, sent notice to friends and family via email, and kvelled at the sweet comments returned to me. Then I revised it again and again, trying to get closer to the heartbeat of my own story, making improvements at each iteration.

Not surprisingly, reviewers noted that the beginning was weak, slow and meandering. Over and over, I wrote the beginning – first line, first paragraph, first chapter. I swapped a chapter for another, improved an earlier version, eliminated one “first chapter” attempt, and finally settled on what seemed to be perfect.

Slogging through the traditional agent querying process, getting no-thank-you’s or no response at all tainted my belief in my…

View original post 829 more words

3 thoughts on “Hitting the Wall, Rounding the Bend, Writing the Whole Way

Leave a Reply

